The lack of morality and rules

“Morality is simply the attitude we adopt towards people we personally dislike.” – Oscar Wilde

I found this quote really interesting today. From one perspective, morality is what you invoke when you aren’t already naturally doing the most benevolent thing. It reminds me of a quote in Doctor Who with the 11th doctor.

Madame Kovarian: The anger of a good man is not a problem. Good men have too many rules.
The Doctor: Good men don’t need rules. Today is not the day to find out why I have so many.
– from A Good Man Goes to War, Season 6

I would say, benevolent people don’t need morality. That intention, that focus in life means rules are not needed because they are guided by the Force to what is benevolent and thus the highest action to take. That’s my goal for my life, personally. I find it comes up in unexpectedly awesome ways. If I can live a life with no need for morals and rules, I believe I will have found spiritual mastery.

Leave a Reply

