To my daughter at 13 months

To my daughter at 13 months

 

One day

you won’t need me for nourishment.

One day

you won’t need me for comfort.

One day

you won’t need me for security.

One day

you won’t need me for cuddles.

 

And I will miss you

even as I enjoy the freedom.

 

I’ll think back on these days

and remember the love

the comfort

how fast it all passed.

 

So, until that day

I cherish your nursing.

Until that day

we comfort each other.

Until that day

I give you security.

Until that day

I enjoy every cuddle.

 

Because I miss you already

and know it will be some day

too soon.


As I said much of this to Melody tonight she grabbed my hand a little tighter while nursing. I think she understood, at least a little. If I’m this emotional before weaning, I can’t imagine the process. But hey, I wrote something creative. That hasn’t happened in years. 🙂

Leave a Reply

