Screen Time

I want to say we limit Melody’s screen time to something appropriate but that would be a lie. The truth is, we have a clingy yet independent baby. If we didn’t use her jumper and Baby Einstein or Sesame Street we would get far less done. We use it as a distraction for the morning when I leave for work as well. She cries less that way.

I mention this because there are some perks to this. Last week we were in Target and I showed her a small Abby doll. Her face lit up with that smile which is as wide as she can possibly go. Of course I bought it because I love seeing her that happy. Whenever you fly Abby to her she lights up still. Definitely worth the $5. Tonight my wife was watching a video of Sesame Street muppets on Jimmy Fallon. She lit up again and made all sorts of noises at them. While we watch Sesame Street she gets so happy with certain parts. Abby’s Flying Fairy School of course. The number and letter of the day songs. This commercial with kids dancing that runs before the show. She really reacts to the songs. And while there may be evidence that screen time isn’t good, it makes her really happy. She still has quiet time with her toys and lots of time cuddling and flying and playing with any of us. She’s not neglected by any stretch of the imagination. So we have a kid that watches tv. We all grew up that way without a second thought. And we know she’s learned to recognize her favorite characters so she’s absorbing things from the show. I guess there are worse ways to parent.

12 Responses to “Screen Time”

  1. Lindsay Says:

    I agree. Evelyn watches 30 minutes of TV when I get ready for work and then another 30-45 when I’m making dinner at night. It hasn’t hurt her as far as I can tell. I grew up with my eyes glued to a screen half the time, and I have done pretty well for myself, if I do so say! lol

  2. TheChroniclesofaNonBellyMama Says:

    We are the same way with the boys. Callie has two of them ALL The time, and every once in a while, if she can get one to sleep, and she has to throw laundry in the wash, she will put the other one in the jumper or the walker and let the tv play for a little bit. The other thing is that since I’m not home most of the day, they don’t really get much Spanish if I’m not there, so we turn the SAP on the TV and they get to watch Jake and the Neverland Pirates in Spanish, or Plaza Sesamo which I have 2 seasons of on DVD…we don’t see anything wrong with either, and the truth is, they actually learn. It’s not like they are watching The Walking Dead!

  3. butchjax Says:

    Haha yeah. I figure we have this year of watching anything we want with her around. Next fall we’ll have to watch after she’s in bed.

  4. twogeekmoms Says:

    I love this. I’ve been so worried about the whole screen time thing, but I loved my shows so much growing up and I’d love him to get to have that kind of excitement too. All things in moderation I guess. As long as we aren’t letting the tv raise them, I think we’re great! I can’t wait to see what Simon is into!

  5. butchjax Says:

    I recommend sesame street. It’s so different from my childhood yet still the same. Also blues clues whoch is free on amazon prime. Baby Einstein dvds can be found cheap and are worth it. The rest was less engaging at this age. Oh she loves mr Rogers too. 🙂

  6. twogeekmoms Says:

    Awesome! Those are all things I was wanting to show him! I love Blues Clues and Baby Einstein as an adult lol and of course Sesame Street and Mr. Rogers are both a given.

  7. butchjax Says:

    Always go with things you can stand to watch! lol We have around 25 episodes of sesame street on the tivo. 🙂 They are awesome.

  8. twogeekmoms Says:

    I can’t wait for him to watch things with me. 🙂 I’ve seen him stare at baseball on TV but it’s just not the same. Haha

  9. butchjax Says:

    It won’t take long before there is recognition. The way she lights up to Abby is so adorable. But definitely can’t wait for her to watch buffy or star wars or star trek. 🙂

  10. twogeekmoms Says:

    Yes! Definitely can’t wait for the geeky stuff!

  11. butchjax Says:

    When he’s a little older, check out Tree Fu Tom. It’s awesome, gets kids moving, and David Tennant is a character in it. 🙂

  12. twogeekmoms Says:

    That sounds pretty great!


Leave a Reply

